President Ramaphosa inaugurated for second term - 19 June 2024

Office of the Premier 2024/06/23 - 22:00

 Lerato Mailoane

The Inauguration of South Africa's seventh democratically elected president officially began on Wednesday, 19 June 2024, signalling the start of the government of national unity.

Chief Justice Raymond Zondo conducted the swearing-in, which was witnessed by South African and international guests, including royalty, Members of Parliament, representatives of political parties, leaders of organised labour, business and civil society organisations, religious leaders, and South Africans who have excelled in various capacities and endeavours.

Wearing a black and grey pin-stripe suit with a white shirt hand his side by side with his wife Tshepo Motsepe, who was wearing a pink skirt and a floral jacket, Ramaphosa took his oat, saying in the presence of everyone assembled that he is in full realisation of the high calling to assume as President of the Republic of South Africa.

"I swear/ solemnly affirm that I will be faithful to the Republic of South Africa and will obey, observe, uphold and maintain the Constitution and all other laws of the Republic, and I solemnly and sincerely promise that.

"I will always promote all that will advance the Republic and oppose all that may harm it; protect and promote the rights of all South Africans; discharge my duties with all my strength and talents to the best of my knowledge and ability and true to the dictates of my conscience; do justice to all; and devote myself to the well-being of the Republic and all of its people. (In the case of an oath: So help me God."

Attendees also included representatives of regional, continental and international organisations and bodies such as the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU) and the United Nations (UN).

Ramaphosa was also honoured by the attendance of several Heads of State and Government and former Heads of State and Government and Royality

including the Kingdom of Eswatini and the Kingdom of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Angola and Tanzania, Uganda, China, Egypt, Palestine and Cuba.

The theme for the occasion is "30 Years of Democracy, Partnership and Growth."

The day's programme commenced at 09h00 with a cultural program for members of the public on the South Lawns of the Union Buildings.

The cultural programme was a platform for local artists to showcase their talent and featured a combination of music genres.

The South African National Defence Force (SANDF) performed the ceremonial elements of the Inauguration as a demonstration of allegiance to the Republic and the Commander-In-Chief.

The ceremonial elements included:

  • A 21-gun salute.
  • A salute flight by the South African Air Force (SAAF).
  • Inspection of a SANDF Battalion a.
  • Battalion march past.
  • A massed fly past.


No related news