Home > Government > Departments > Roads and Transport > About Us

​​​​​​​​About Roads and Transport

The responsibility of the Department of Roads and Transport includes improving mobility and accessibility, develop (freight & public) transport and socio-economic infrastructure that assists residents participate meaningfully in the economic and social activities. It's vision is to develop an integrated, sustainable transport infrastructure that promotes accessible, safe and affordable movement of people, goods and services.

MEC’s Office 

MEC: Mr Ismail Vadi
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Life Centre Building,
29th Floor, 45 Commissioner Street, 
Johannesburg
Tel: (011) 355 7501​
Fax: (011) 355 7509
Email: Sofia.Yusuf@gauteng.gov.za

Head of Department

Head of Department: Mr Ronald Swartz
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Life Centre Building, 
29th Floor, 45 Commissioner Street,
Johannesburg
Tel: (011) 355 7301/ 7342
 
Chief Directors
 

Chief Director: Roads Maintenance: Mr Victor Phala
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Victor.phala@gauteng.gov.za  

Chief Director: Roads Construction: Ms Ruth Morena
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: ruth.morena@gauteng.gov.za   

Chief Director: Design & Traffic Engineering Services: Mr Khuselo Mngaza
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Khuselo.mngaza@gauteng.gov.za

 Chief Director: Transport Policy & Planning: Mr Freeman Masuku 
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Freeman.masuku@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Registration & Operating Licensing: Mr Modise Sojane
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Modise.sojane@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Public Transport Services (Bus Subsidies): Ms Motlalepule Mmatli
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Motlalepule.mmatli@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Motor Vehicle, Driver Registration & Licencing (MVDR&L): Mr Nhlakanipho Nduli
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Nhlakanipho.nduli@gauteng.gov.za  

Chairperson: Provincial Regulatory Entity (PRE): Ms Lebo Smith
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Lebo.smith@gauteng.gov.za

Deputy Director: Media Liaison Officer: Ms Melitah Madiba
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Melitah.madiba@gauteng.gov.za or PressOffice.GPDRT@gauteng.gov.za or call: 073 644 9935