Departments

 
​​About Roads and Transport

​The Department of Roads and Transport (DRT) is responsible for the improvement of mobility and accessibility in Gauteng as well as the development of transport and socio-economic infrastructure that facilitates residents' meaningful participation in economic and social activities. The Department's vision includes developing an integrated, sustainable infrastructure that promotes innovative, accessible, safe a​nd affordable movement of people, goods and services.
 
Contact Details

MEC’s Office 
MEC: D​r Ismail Vadi
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Life Centre Building, 29th Floor, 45 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg
Tel: (011) 355 7501​
Fax: (011) 355 7509
 
Head of Department
  
Head of Department: Mr Ronald Swartz
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Life Centre Building, 29th Floor, 45 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg
Tel: (011) 355 7301/ 7342
 
Service Delivery and Projects Intervention Unit (Office of the HoD)
Ms Zanele Franks 
Email: Zanele.franks@gauteng.gov.za 
Tel: (011) 355 7376 or cell: 082 805 2612​

Premier’s Hotline 08600 11000 (For service delivery related complaints)

Chief Director: Roads Maintenance: Mr Victor Phala 

Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Victor.phala@gauteng.gov.za  ​

Chief Director: Roads Construction: Ms Ruth Morena​
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Ruth.morena@gauteng.gov.za    

Chief Director: Design & Traffic Engineering Services: Mr Khuselo Mngaza
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Khuselo.mngaza@gauteng.gov.za

Chief Director: Transport Policy & Planning: Mr Freeman Masuku 
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Freeman.masuku@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Registration & Operating Licensing: Mr Modise Sojane
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Modise.sojane@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Public Transport Services (Bus Subsidies): Ms Motlalepule Mmatli
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Motlalepule.mmatli@gauteng.gov.za  

Acting Chief Director: Motor Vehicle, Driver Registration & Licencing (MVDR&L): Mr Nhlakanipho Nduli
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Nhlakanipho.nduli@gauteng.gov.za    

Chairperson: Provincial Regulatory Entity (PRE): Ms Lebo Smith
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Lebo.smith@gauteng.gov.za

Media Liaison Officer: Ms Melitah Madiba
Mail: Private Bag X88, Marshalltown, 2107
Email: Melitah.madiba@gauteng.gov.za or PressOffice.GPDRT@gauteng.gov.za or call: 073 644 9935

​Switchboard: (011) 355 7000​

We Are On The Move: B​e advised that the Gauteng Department of Roads and Transport (GDRT) 
has relocated to 45 Commissioner Street- Life Centre Building,​
opp Chancellor House Rea Vaya Station​, Marshalltown, JHB.