• Welcome to the Gauteng Department of Economic Development website

    We are committed to a radically transformed, modernised and reindustrialised economy in Gauteng, manifesting decent work, economic inclusion and equity.

About Economic Development

The Department of Economic Development is tasked with developing the right environmental framework for economic growth and job creation, and instituting sound financial management policies and structures. The department's vision is to become a centre of excellence, providing economic policy direction, development facilitation, financial management leadership, and contributing to an environment conducive to labour-absorbing economic growth and poverty reduction. Read More

MEC’s Office

MEC: Mr Lebogang Maile
Mail: Private Bag X091, Marshalltown, 2107
Street: 56 Eloff Street, UMnotho House, Marshalltown, Johannesburg
Tel: (011) 355 8462
Fax: (086) 586 6084
E-mail: Thokozile.Makgato@gauteng.gov.za

Head of Department / Communication

Head of Department: Ms Pumla Ncapayi
Tel: (011) 355 8111
Email: Pumla.Ncapayi@gauteng.gov.za
Email: Sithembile.Nkabinde@gauteng.gov.za

Head of Communication: Ms Nondumiso Mabuza
Tel: (011) 355 8436
Email: Nondumiso.Mabuza@gauteng.gov.za

Deputy Director Generals

Ms Yoland Ruiters
DDG: Corporate Management
Tel: (011) 355 8024/8007
Email: Yoland.Ruiters@gauteng.gov.za

Adv. Pieter Holl
DDG: Business Regulation and Governance
Tel: (011) 355 8424
Email: Pieter.Holl@gauteng.gov.za

Mr Motlatjo Moholwa
DDG: Economic Planning and Development
Tell: (011) 355 8352/ 8039
Email: Motlatjo.Moholwa@gauteng.gov.za

Meet The MEC,
Lebogang Maile

In June 2014 Lebogang Maile became MEC for Economic Development and later his responsibilities were extended to include, Environment, Agriculture and Rural Development.

Maile grew up in Gauteng’s oldest township Alexandra which gave him an intimate sense of the struggle facing black people in South Africa under apartheid. Read More

ContactMEC's CornerSpeeches
Gauteng Provincial Government Official Website

Twitter feed

Premier's Hotline

Tel: 08600 11000

Social Media

Contacts Us